• Sun. Dec 4th, 2022

League of Legends Beginner’s Guide

League of Legends Beginners Guide

League of Legends is a Multiplayer Online Battle Arena (MOBA) developed by Riot Games. Since its first release in 2009, LoL has become the most popular ESports title out right now. The game boasts a massive player base, where thousands of new gamers get started with it every day.

So, if you are interested in League of Legends, and want to know what the fuss is all about, or just start your own LoL journey, then you are at the right place. In this guide, we will go through all the basics you need to know about LoL, so without any further wait, let’s just get into it.

The Champions

Starting with the basics of the basics, the Champions are the different characters you can choose in LoL. At the time of writing, there are about 154 Champions.

Read Also: League of Legends Betting

All the Champions have slightly different abilities, and being a team strategy-based game, different combinations of Champions in LoL can grant players vastly different play styles that they can take advantage of.

See also  Riot Adjusts Costs of RP and TFT Cash in US, Canada and EU

But, for the sake of keeping things simple, as a new player, you just need to find a champion whose ability closely matches your play style. 

A good place to start is with Garen for an all-rounder type play, with Dr. Mundo for some extra agility and damage, or even Nasus for a brawler type play style.

 The Summoners Rift

After the champions, the second thing that you need to know about, is the Maps in LoL.

The most basic map in LoL is called the Summoners Rift. It’s also called the 5v5, where players face off against each other from the opposite ends. Although there are other maps in LoL, Summoners Rift is the most popular map where most of the professional players and newbies play.

See also  LOL player died 700 times

So Summoners Rift is the main map you should focus on mastering, and getting good at when you are just starting out.

The Match Basics

So, after choosing a hero, and a map. You need to learn the basics of conflict. When all the champions are locked in at the beginning of each match, the player has 10 seconds to choose rune pages, skills, and set down their emotes etc.

Without selecting any Rune pages, the players will not be able to enter a match, so you need to select one before the match begins.

Now that the players are all set up, they are summoned in the Rift and are given a little bit of time in their bases to buy their starter items from the shop.

The items that you need to buy depends on the Champion you chose, and the lane you are given the charge of.

See also  LoL player SOAZ says Dota 2 is more fun than League of Legends

The lane roles that you can choose are top, middle, bot and jungle lane. Of course, the players are free to go wherever they want, but LoL is a team game, so you need to cooperate with your teammates.

So, both your team and the opponents are tasked with destroying each other home base to win. And to do that, the players need to level up, kill the opponent Champions and minions, farm coins and experience from the dead bodies. Buy more equipment, skills from the store to become more powerful and then go on to destroy the enemy towers, to get through the enemies defence line and destroy their base.

So, after winning each match, the players are granted experience points that then help them rank up. After reaching Level 30 in LoL you can access ranked matches and further your career as a League player.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *